The Fear of the Unknown

“The quality of your life is in direct proportion to the amount of uncertainty you can comfortably deal with.” -Tony Robbins.

I have been finding myself stressed out lately.  Even after a really good cardio session at the gym, I was driving home, stressed.  I was cooking dinner, listening to music and drinking a glass of wine; one of my favorite nightly routines, stressed.  I couldn’t sleep through the night, cause… you guessed it.. stressed.  As I was driving to work, I came to kind of one of those Ah-ha moments.  I thought to myself, the reason why I am so stressed is because of the fear of the unknown.  Not knowing what is going to happen in my life the next couple of years with all the upcoming changes in ownership, was stressing me out.  But, the truth is, I always knew this day would could.  I just chose to do nothing about it.  I was scared because I was only focusing on the negative outcomes of the situation.  I feared the unknown.  Although, life itself is unknown.  We don’t know what is going to happen tomorrow, next week, next year… all we have is this moment.  The fact that I was given somewhat of a heads up  that things were going to be change, is more than most people get.  Why hadn’t I prepared for the unknown all along?  Ignorant in my youth, I suppose many of us don’t worry too much about the future when we are young.

The more I thought about it, I realized that I could have been scared all along.  The unknown has always been there.  What I was fearing now, was mostly, change.  We get comfortable in our routines, relationships, jobs (we may not even like) and we don’t want to rock the boat.  Change is queen of the unknown.  But, there is also something exciting about change.  Change can bring forth growth and a life that is even better than currently.  Change can bring true love out of an abusive relationship.  Change can turn a passion into a career.  This thought made me happy and feel positive.

There are two ways to look at the unknown, either with faith or fear.  Whichever choice is made will attract the same.

Leave a Reply

