A Love Like Jacks

When I first saw people’s post on Facebook regarding the show, “This is Us”, I thought to myself, why would anyone want to watch a show that made them cry every time?  Then on a rainy Saturday, I decided to see what everyone was crying about.  I was hooked after the first episode and ended up watching 4 more episodes back to back.  There were so many things that I could relate to on the show.  I am 36, just like the siblings, the financial struggles of growing up in the 80s (especially for the parents) and the creative ways the family created memories and traditions.  They weren’t the perfect family.  They fought and made up, there were alcohol issues and bad childhood memories.  Just like life, the show seemed real.  As I found myself crying by the end of every episode, I came to the conclusion that life is hard!  But, what matters most is the people we love and the memories that we create.  There are going to be some tough times, there is no getting away from that, although somehow, sometimes those tough times bring forth something beautiful.

I have to say, “This is Us” is probably one of my most favorite shows ever.  If you haven’t seen it, I recommend giving it a chance and grab a box of tissue.

Leave a Reply

