Why I Write

Each morning I struggle to get out of bed, brush my teeth, shower, make a cup of coffee, get ready for the day and I write.  I look at the time and for at least ten minutes, I allow myself to flood out all my thoughts, what happened since the last morning I wrote, goals I have, things I would like to change and what I appreciate.  Every since I was a little girl, I’ve written in a journal, but mostly because there is this drive in me, that just needs to write it out.  I find as I write, I work things out in my head.  It is a way for me to rid stress and thoughts that have been pressing.  It motivates me to stick to my goals and as I look back on previous years, it shows the progress of how far I have come.

I’ve tried to start blogs solely on cooking or projects around the house, but I’ve never been able to concentrate on one thing for too long.  Although, right now, my theme maybe being frugal and living simply, the main reason for starting this blog, is giving myself an opportunity to write.

The joy of writing itself, to share one’s thoughts and feelings, has to be the ultimate selfie!

Of course, seeing other bloggers and readers liking what I share and possibly even following me, is exciting!  The thought of someone reading what I wrote and relating to it, is a connection that all social beings enjoy.  To be able to share experiences and photos with others from around the world, broadens the sense of community, opens eyes to other cultures and proves that we are all so much the same.

If you are a writer, then you need to write.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
― Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Why do you like to write?  Please comment below.

2 thoughts on “Why I Write”

  1. Nicely put Sarah Jean. I have always enjoyed writing in a journal too, although I found it hard to keep this up everyday. However since joining this community, and connecting with people through their stories and experiences, I’ve never been more motivated to keep going 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

