Bucket List

I have mentioned to a few of my friends now, that I am embarking on a frugal lifestyle.  I’ve made the point, that I am not going to deprive myself of everything, but just to let them know, that I am on a mission right now.  The choice to become debt free, to allow a lifestyle of more freedom in the future, is an independent one.  A solo journey, with choices that are made to support goals.  In a culture that thrives on instant gratification, with services such as UberEats (which I loved in my previous careless spending life), the availability to spend money is easier than ever.  Being frugal though isn’t an impossible mission, it is a creative one.  Figuring out new ways to spend free time, cooking some meals that cost just a few dollars, getting rid of bad habits (hello too many beers on a Friday night); it is finding new ways to enjoy life and do more of what is really important to you.  If getting a manicure every couple weeks brings you happiness, keep doing it.  But, maybe cut out that Starbucks latte on the way to work.  To me, being frugal means having a plan and knowing where my hard earned money is going.  I’m not here to torture myself or make life miserable.  It is all about creating a lifestyle that will allow me to be less stressed and full of adventure.  I’m doing this so I can do the things I really want to do.

That is where my bucket list comes into play.

buck·et list
noun informal
a number of experiences or achievements that a person hopes to have or accomplish during their lifetime.

Some of the items on my list, don’t require a budget.  But, creating a lifestyle that is more laid back or being able to work less may allow more time for me to accomplish some of these goals.  Others will require saving and planning and those are what I want my dollars to go towards.  Lattes every day for a year or a trip to Hawaii- I will take the trip please!  If you haven’t created a bucket list before, I suggest giving it a try.  Write out everything that you can think of, doesn’t matter how crazy the idea is, of things you would like to experience or accomplish in your lifetime.  This can be a great starting point, to start setting some goals.

My Bucket List

  • Travel to Spain
  • Travel to New York
  • Travel to San Diego
  • Be in my best health ever
  • Write a book
  • Have a successful blog
  • Be debt free
  • Take cooking classes
  • Adopt a dog from the shelter
  • Have a side gig
  • Have 6 months of living saved
  • Have over a hundred thousand saved
  • Pay off the house
  • Have a beautiful backyard
  • Have a vegetable and flower garden
  • Take a 6 month sabbatical
  • Travel to Rome
  • Sell items on Etsy
  • Drive the 101 all the way through California
  • Go to Napa Valley
  • Hike through Utah
  • Explore Arizona
  • Go to Texas
  • Own an Airstream
  • Speak Spanish fluently
  • Hike Mailbox
  • Kayak
  • Make natural skincare products
  • Learn how to make candles
  • Make soap
  • Have a cabin next to a river
  • Have a condo in the city
  • Travel to Bali
  • Help others live a better life
  • Sit on a beach and do nothing for a week
  • Go to Alaska
  • Learn more about photography
  • Take writing classes

This list will be ongoing.  I hope to check some of these off my list and as I grow and change as a person, I am sure I will be adding more of what is important to me.

Do you have a bucket list?  What are some of the things you want to do with your time here?  I would love to hear it!  Please comment below.

2 thoughts on “Bucket List”

  1. You’ve got some really wonderful and lofty items on your bucket list so it’s exactly as it should be! You’re right about frugality as well. So many people think it’s being a miser and never spending a penny, but it’s actually about being realistic and deep diving on what our wants versus needs are. If we spend less where it’s totally unnecessary then we can spend more where it is – including on the things that mean a lot to us, even if it is a regular manicure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

