What am I Going to do With My Life

For as long as I can remember, I have always loved to write.   I’ve enjoyed reading books and positive quotes to start my morning. I have created  personalized cards, journal books, short stories – just for the joy of creating. I’ve thought about doing different careers throughout my lifetime, from being a hairdresser to a lawyer to esthetics to a firefighter to a cook-  The list could go on and on. I have been searching basically my whole life trying to figure out what am I going to do with my life? Problem with thinking about it too much, is allowing yourself to talk yourself out of why you should even begin to try. Timing will always be bad. Money will always be tight.   I may never think that I am ready or I just may be too comfortable in my current situation.   Whatever the case maybe nothing will ever change unless I decide I am going to go for it. Last night I was out with some friends and one of the women was telling me that, what she wishes for her daughter someday, is that she has a family of her own, she picks one thing that she’s interested in and goes for it and that she is happy. I know that she was speaking for her daughter, but I took it as advice or myself.  Being someone who enjoys so many different things- the idea of picking one thing and going for it, is terrifying. It feels as though I am closing the door to all the other things that I enjoy.   But, could it be possible by not picking one thing and really going for it, that you never really find what you’re passionate about at all? Maybe it is picking one thing and figuring out that, that one thing isn’t for you and moving onto the next. It is allowing yourself to try new things as well as fail.   It is not to choose something to be successful and to make money of it, but rather to find a fire inside of you that makes you happy. To be able to create and share what you have with others,  or at least to enjoy how you spend your time. When I started writing this blog, it was because I have always loved writing. I don’t expect anything out of it. I haven’t even told my friends how to find it,  although I have shared that I am writing a blog because it makes me happy!  But, that is it.   I still don’t know yet that one thing that I would like to choose and give it my all, although it seems I always come back to writing. So here I am giving it a shot. Putting it out there in the world. To work on improving my writing skills and seeing how far I want to take it.  No matter what I choose, writing will always be a part of me.

Leave a Reply

