Comfort Food

There is something about a grilled cheese sandwich and tomato soup, that forces me to enjoy the moment, as I savor each bite.  The two go hand and hand, like peanut butter and jelly, they were meant to come together.  From time to time, I like to indulge in a meal that consist of comfort foods.  Although I try to eat healthy and more for “fuel” most of the time, the chance to indulge in my favorite foods is something I would never want to completely deprive myself of.  Tacos, pizza, sushi, a big juicy burger are all little gems of my culinary desires.  But, they are something to appreciate and look forward to, rather than consumed on a daily basis.  This I am learning relates to many circumstances in life. Too much of a good thing, can make it lose all of its’ sparkle.  When we are consistently getting what we want, sometimes we can forget to appreciate it.  Ever heard of the statement, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder?”  I think this is where they are getting at.

As I learn more about my self and the process of the journey I am on, I am also learning it is okay to not always get what you want.  Not getting what you want now, makes it even more special, at the end, when things begin to come together.  In that process, I am learning more to appreciate the simple things… like a cup of tomato soup and grilled cheese, while wearing my PJs, reading a book, on a rainy Sunday night.

 

 

Leave a Reply

