First Impressions

I was on my lunch break today, walking out to my car and a stranger walked past and smiled at me.  I wondered if I looked happy at the moment, which struck a cord with her to smile, or if she was thinking of a happy memory she once experienced.  I got into my Jeep and the first thing I thought was, first impressions are bullshit!  There are so many different factors that can effect a first impression.  The mood of each individual, the environment, their backgrounds, education, their goals, what motivates them, if they are an introvert or extrovert and if they know how to communicate with difference, if one feels threatened or encourage… there are so many different factors.  What I have come to realize is that first impressions are more so based on the personality of each individual and it doesn’t matter, what time of person you think you are, but rather what a person comes to the conclusion of, based on their own thoughts.  It doesn’t matter if you are a nice person or a total jerk, each person may view you based on their own conclusions.  We categorize people depending on their age, gender, nationality, economic situation, what kind of car they drive or what area they live in.  Many times, we come to a conclusion before a first impression is even started.  The reason why I think first impressions are bullshit, is because they really don’t matter.  Sure, you want people to like you and especially in business, you want to win over the other person approval.  But, really, what is important is how you view yourself.  If you are happy with who you are and what you are doing, first impressions, really don’t matter.  People will either like you or they won’t and really you don’t have any control over that.  When someone is trying to0 hard (like a pushy salesman) to win over your approval, the falseness is so apparent, it can be felt in the vibe itself.  I have been guilty of categorizing people before giving them a chance.  I have had some beautiful conversations and relationships evolve from people, I didn’t think I liked, when I first met them.  I am starting to learn to appreciate everyone’s uniqueness.  It doesn’t matter if they aren’t smiling, when I say hi or if they didn’t seem to like me.  What matters is that I like me… and I like people.  Even I can be a little awkward sometimes, leaning more towards the introverted side, but hey, that’s me.  Take it or leave it.

Leave a Reply

